Please add the Governors' Biofuels Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Biofuels Coalition
NEWS UPDATE September 16, 2019

To:                  State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

 

Subject:           Monthly Conference Call Agenda

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for this Friday, September 20 at 10:00 a.m. CT(11:00 ET, 9:00 MT, and 8:00 PT). Please call 712-775-7270and enter code 998717# to join the call. We’ll discuss the following topics during our call:

 

California Looks to the Midwest for Cleaner EthanolRichard Corey, Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board (invited)

“The Midwest can help save our planet’s natural resources with responsible farming practices. Presidential candidates have hinted at it with their plans and speeches in Iowa, but it’s not something we should gloss over as pandering; it’s a real possibility.

“Leaders from the California Air Resources Board, a major influencer in how markets nationwide respond to environmental concerns, took a trip to Iowa last week to visit ethanol production plants and corn farms, talking to ethanol-industry leaders in the state about expanding biofuel usage in California.”

 

Unlikely Allies: California And Iowa Look to Cleaner Ethanol, IowaStartingLine

 

China-U.S. Trade Talks UpdateBrian Healy, U.S. Grains Council (invited)

“The trade war between the United States and China showed signs of easing on Thursday, as China reportedly made its first large purchase in months of American soybeans after President Trump agreed to briefly delay his next round of tariffs.

“A trade deal between the two sides is not imminent, and deep divisions remain. But after weeks of escalating tariffs that have pushed the bilateral relationship to its rockiest point in decades, both countries appeared eager this week to try to calm tensions before a new round of talks next month.”

 

With Trade Talks Looming, U.S. and China Move to Relax Tensions, NYT

 

 

White House Biofuel Reform Plan— Larry Pearce, Doug Durante

            White House Plans Biofuel Quota Boost to Offset Refinery Waivers, Bloomberg

 

 

Washington Update — Doug Durante, Larry Pearce

           

 

A Blender Pump is Not a “Refinery”

Challenging EPA’s Restrictions on Higher Blends (draft)

 

SAFE Proposed Rule Update

 

GBC Update— Larry Pearce

            Letter to President Trump on Small Refinery Exemptions

            GBC Trump SRE News Release (9-4-19)

            Draft message to 2020 Presidential Candidates

Draft cover letter to 2020 Presidential Candidates

Draft aromatics letter to the President

            Meeting with Governor Kelly TBA

Meeting with Governor Evers TBA

 

 

October’s conference call is cancelled.  Next call at 10:00 CT, 11:00 ET, and 8:00 PT on Friday, November 15.

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.