Please add the Governors' Biofuels Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Biofuels Coalition
NEWS UPDATE August 12, 2019

To:                  State Representatives

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director\

Subject:           Monthly Conference Call Agenda

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for this Friday, August 16 at 10:00 a.m. CT(11:00 ET, 9:00 MT, and 8:00 PT). Please call 712-775-7270and enter code 998717# to join the call. We’ll discuss the following topics during our call:

 

Update: Clean Fuel Policy for the MidwestBrendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute

            “The Midwestern Clean Fuel Policy group has been meeting now for over a year. We have accomplished a great deal, in terms of discussing design considerations for the Midwest and conducting analysis on the potential implications of a policy in our states. There was broad agreement at the meeting that we have reached the point in the process where we are ready to complete a deliverable and to “go public” in a way we haven’t done before.  The proposed deliverable is a white paper that tries to capture where we are as a group today – what we have agreed on, what we have not agreed on, and what work we’ve done to date. The whitepaper will include high level considerations for policy design as well as summarizing the modelling and analysis conducted on our behalf.” — Brendan Jordan

DRAFT MW CFP white paper outline 8 5 19 CLEAN

Washington Update — Larry Pearce

            Small Refinery Exemptions

EPA Announces Biofuel and Small Refinery Exemption Priorities, EPA

Trump’s EPA grants 31 small refinery waivers from biofuel laws, angering corn lobby – Reuters

D.C. Circuit gears up for busy environmental docket, E&E

Trump intervention delaying EPA biofuel waiver action, sources say, Reuters

U.S. farm state senators introduce bill to overhaul biofuel waiver program

E15

Small fuel retailers sue Trump EPA over E15 gasoline rule – filing, Reuters

A Blender Pump is Not a “Refinery”

Challenging EPA’s Restrictions on Higher Blends (draft)

SAFE Proposed Rule Update

Trump’s rollback of clean car rules goes to OMB for review, Washington Examiner

D.C. Circuit gears up for busy environmental docket, E&E

Twenty-three U.S. states urge Trump to drop vehicle fuel-efficiency freeze, Reuters

Canada Signals a Willingness to Challenge Trump on His Clean-Car Rollback, NYT

 

State Trade Association Meeting, August 21-22, Mystic Lake Casino,Minneapolis

            Nathan Hohnstein, Iowa Renewable Fuels Association, nhohnstein@iowarfa.org

 

GBC Update— Larry Pearce

            Meeting with Governor Walz and staff on June 24-25

Meeting with Governor Noem TBA

Meeting with Governor Kelly TBA

Meeting with Governor Evers TBA

 

 

Next call at 10:00 CT, 11:00 ET, and 8:00 PT on Friday, September 20, 2019 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.