Landrieu announces Energy Committee senior staff

Source: Phil Taylor, E&E reporter • Posted: Thursday, March 13, 2014

Senate Energy and Natural Resources Chairwoman Mary Landrieu (D-La.) has named Louisiana native Elizabeth Craddock as her committee staff director.
Landrieu also announced that her personal staffers Caroline Bruckner and David Gillers will serve in senior roles alongside longtime ENR aides Sam Fowler, David Brooks and Daniel Adamson.Craddock, who has served in Landrieu’s office since 2006, replaces Joshua Sheinkman, who followed former committee Chairman Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) to his new chairmanship on the Finance Committee.A Delhi, La., native, Craddock becomes the first woman to lead the committee’s majority staff, Landrieu said.

“Liz has been an effective leader in my office for eight years for Louisiana and our country, and I have no doubt that she will continue to be effective in her new role leading this experienced team,” Landrieu said in a statement.

Craddock specializes in energy, the environment, agriculture and trade issues. She most recently served as Landrieu’s legislative director and counsel, coordinating legislation and providing vote recommendations.

Prior to joining Landrieu’s office, Craddock also served former Reps. Karen Thurman (D-Fla.) and Dale Kildee (D-Mich.), as well as working in a short-term role during law school for the Energy and Commerce Committee.

Craddock, who earned a law degree from Tulane University, called her new appointment a “tremendous honor.”

“We’re at a critical time in our nation’s history thanks to new technologies that are allowing us to discover and produce more natural gas,” Craddock said. “Senator Landrieu understands the important impact this energy production is having on our economy and how it is helping to grow and expand the middle class.”

Bruckner and Gillers will join the seasoned team of Fowler, Brooks and Adamson, who have served on the committee dating back to the 1990s.

Fowler, who was chief counsel under Wyden, has served the committee since 1991, helping craft major pieces of energy legislation with a focus on nuclear issues. Fowler helped former Chairman Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.) write a bill to revamp the country’s stalled nuclear waste program, but the measure was bottled up in committee.

Brooks, a 16-year ENR veteran, specializes in federal lands issues and played an integral role in the passage of the Omnibus Public Land Management Act of 2009, which designated more than 2 million acres of wilderness and established three new national park units, a new national monument, three new national conservation areas and more than 1,000 miles of national wild and scenic rivers, among other provisions.

Adamson came to the committee under Wyden from the Solar Energy Industries Association, where he was vice president of regulatory affairs and counsel. Adamson previously was a partner at the law firm Davis Wright Tremaine LLP, representing clients before Congress, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and courts.

Other ENR Committee staff who have followed Wyden to the Finance panel or his personal office include Drew Johnston and Kevin Rennert, forestry expert Michele Miranda, investigators David Berick and Peter Gartrell, and the communications team of Keith Chu and Samantha Offerdahl.

Longtime ENR Committee aide Patty Beneke left the committee months ago, according to the congressional staffing database Legistorm.