IRFA congratulates new Governors’ Biofuels Coalition chair

Source: By Iowa Renewable Fuels Association • Posted: Wednesday, January 9, 2013

  • Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad has been named chair of the Governors’ Biofuels Coalition for 2013.

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association has congratulated Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad for his recent selection as chair of the Governors’ Biofuels Coalition for 2013, a year with a great deal at stake for the renewable fuels community. IRFA President Rick Schwarck wrote a letter to the governor stating,

“Your leadership and willingness to serve as a great representative of Iowa has been instrumental in helping our state lead the nation in both renewable fuels production and policy. Your work as the original chair of what was then called the Governors’ Ethanol Coalition and your more recent accomplishments as vice chair of the GBC have truly helped lift the industry to where it stands today.”

“We look forward to working with you as GBC Chair to continue to expand E15 availability nationwide, maintain the federal renewable fuel standard (RFS), and enact stable, long-term tax policies favorable to the further development and growth of the biodiesel and cellulosic ethanol industries.”

Iowa is the leader in renewable fuels production. Iowa has 41 ethanol refineries capable of producing over 3.7 billion gallons annually, with one wet mill and two cellulosic ethanol facilities currently under construction. In addition, Iowa has 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce nearly 315 million gallons annually.

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association was formed in 2002 to represent the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry. The trade group fosters the development and growth of the renewable fuels industry in Iowa through education, promotion, legislation and infrastructure dev