Governors’ Biofuels Coalition Names Leadership Team

Source: By Domestic Fuel • Posted: Sunday, January 10, 2016

Governors’ Biofuels Coalition has named its 2016 Leadership Team. Missouri Governor Jay Nixon will become chairman and Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts will become vice chairman.


“For more than 20 years, the Governors’ Biofuels Coalition has worked in a bipartisan way to strengthen American energy independence and create jobs in rural communities,” Governor Nixon said. “I look forward to working with Governor Ricketts to promote the production and use of biofuels because, in addition to diversifying our energy portfolio, they also give consumers more choices at the pump, reduce harmful emissions, and increase family incomes in rural America. I thank Governor Branstad for his outstanding leadership, and I look forward to building on his success.”

During 2016, the Coalition will continue to advocate for policies that grow the biofuel industry including working with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to ensure the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) moves forward. Also this year, the Coalition will propose legislation that will encourage investment in the nation’s advanced biofuel industry; ask the EPA to enforce Section 202 of the Clean Air Act to limit aromatics and open the market for ethanol as a source of clean octane; ask the EPA to drop the obsolete vapor pressure restrictions on higher ethanol blends; and ask for policies that will restore the fuel economy credits (CAFE).

“I’m honored to serve as the next vice chairman of this organization, and will continue working to strengthen the energy independence of Nebraska and our country. Nebraska was one of the founding members of the Coalition, and the Coalition continues to play a major role in our nation’s energy policies, including the renewable fuel standard,” said Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts.

Governor Nixon and Governor Ricketts both thanked Iowa Governor Terry Branstad for not only his leadership of the Coalition last year but for his tireless national leadership on renewable energy policy, and making Iowa a model of renewable energy development for all our states.